skip navigation

USL Championship Announces 2020 Home Openers

By Orange County SC Communications, 01/06/20, 12:00PM PST


Our Home Opener will be Friday, March 6th vs El Paso Locomotive FC. Match time is still TBD.

TAMPA, Fla. – The United Soccer League today announced the home openers for all 35 clubs in the USL Championship, with the league’s 10th anniversary season set to kick off on Friday, March 6.

The 2020 campaign opens with a Friday doubleheader that will feature three teams that reached the postseason in the Western Conference last season, with Orange County SC set to host El Paso Locomotive FC in the opening game at Championship Stadium in California before Tacoma Defiance takes on Reno 1868 FC at Cheney Stadium.

The first Saturday of the season contains plenty to watch for, too, with perennial playoff contenders North Carolina FC hosting Louisville City FC and the New York Red Bulls II hosting the Tampa Bay Rowdies. In the Western Conference, Real Monarchs SLC will open its title defense on the road against San Antonio FC, while two sides that reached the postseason in their inaugural seasons will kick off their second campaigns when Austin Bold FC hosts New Mexico United.

The weekend’s marquee matchup arrives late on Saturday night when expansion side San Diego Loyal SC, led by Landon Donovan, hosts Las Vegas Lights FC and Head Coach Eric Wynalda as the former U.S. Men’s National Team legends square off on the sidelines for the first time.

Other notable home openers include the first game at home for defending champion Real Monarchs SLC, which welcomes 2019 Regular Season Title-Winner Phoenix Rising FC to Zions Bank Stadium on Saturday, March 14, while Miami FC and the Tampa Bay Rowdies will meet for the first time in the USL Championship on Friday, March 13 at Riccardo Silva Stadium.

Louisville City FC will be the visitor for two early 2019 Eastern Conference playoff rematches as it visits Pittsburgh Riverhounds SC on Saturday, March 21 at Highmark Stadium and then takes on Indy Eleven on April 4 at Lucas Oil Stadium. The two-time champion will then open its new 11,700-seat Lynn Family Stadium on Saturday, April 11 as it plays host to Birmingham Legion FC, kicking off a new era for the club as it aims to reach the USL Championship Final for an unprecedented fourth consecutive season.

2020 USL Championship Home Openers:

March 6: Orange County SC vs. El Paso Locomotive FC Tacoma Defiance vs. Reno 1868 FC

March 7: Austin Bold FC vs. New Mexico United Memphis 901 FC vs. Indy Eleven New York Red Bulls II vs. Tampa Bay Rowdies North Carolina FC vs. Louisville City FC OKC Energy FC vs. Colorado Springs Switchbacks FC

Philadelphia Union II vs. Loudoun United FC Phoenix Rising FC vs. Portland Timbers 2

Sacramento Republic FC vs. FC Tulsa Saint Louis FC vs. Miami FC San Antonio FC vs. Real Monarchs SLC San Diego Loyal SC vs. Las Vegas Lights FC

March 8: ATL UTD 2 vs. Charleston Battery Rio Grande Valley FC vs. LA Galaxy II Sporting Kansas City II vs. Charlotte Independence

March 13: LA Galaxy II vs. Austin Bold FC Miami FC vs. Tampa Bay Rowdies

March 14: Charlotte Independence vs. Pittsburgh Riverhounds SC Colorado Springs Switchbacks FC vs. San Antonio FC El Paso Locomotive FC vs. Portland Timbers 2 FC Tulsa vs. New Mexico United Las Vegas Lights FC vs. Sacramento Republic FC Real Monarchs SLC vs. Phoenix Rising FC Reno 1868 FC vs. OKC Energy FC

March 15: Birmingham Legion FC vs. Charleston Battery

March 21: Hartford Athletic vs. Charleston Battery New Mexico United vs. El Paso Locomotive FC

Pittsburgh Riverhounds SC vs. Louisville City FC Tampa Bay Rowdies vs. North Carolina FC

March 22: Portland Timbers 2 vs. Colorado Springs Switchbacks FC

March 28: Charleston Battery vs. Philadelphia Union II

April 4: Indy Eleven vs. Louisville City FC

April 11: Louisville City FC vs. Birmingham Legion FC

May 6: Loudoun United FC vs. Charlotte Independence

OC News